The COVID Project
The record
- Jurisdiction
- Kentucky
- Level
- State
- Authority
- Ky. Const. sec. 29
- Issued
- 2021-02-02 Feb. 2, 2021
- Effective
- standing (2020 text: Class A misdemeanor; 2021 text: fines) (read as 2021-02-02)
- End
- standing (read as 2021-09-30)
- In force
- Standing since Feb. 2, 2021 (a statutory duty; in force throughout the six quarters)
- Quarters
- 2020 Q22020 Q32020 Q42021 Q12021 Q22021 Q3
2020 Q22020 Q32020 Q42021 Q12021 Q22021 Q3
- Limitation types
- Standing duty
- Addressees
- persons generally, including businesses and their owners and operators
- Character
- order penalty
- Collection
- Standing duties: Kentucky DUT-KY
Operative words
Any person violating any provision of this chapter or any administrative regulation or order promulgated pursuant to this chapter for which another penalty is not specified shall be fined an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) for a first offense and not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for each subsequent offense.
Penalty
Class A misdemeanor (to Feb. 1, 2021); fine $100 first offense, $250 subsequent (from Feb. 2, 2021)
What it required
Made violation of any order or regulation under KRS chapter 39A (every executive order and CHFS order of 2020-2021) an offense: in the text in force through February 1, 2021, 'Any person violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any administrative regulation or order promulgated pursuant to this chapter for which another penalty is not specified shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor' (struck words preserved in Ex. KY-041 sec. 6), punishable by up to twelve months (KRS 532.090(1)) and $500 (KRS 534.040(2)(a)); from February 2, 2021, fines of $100 and $250.
Retrieval note2021 SB 1 (Ex. KY-041), which enacted the fine schedule, was temporarily enjoined by the Franklin Circuit Court on March 3, 2021 with HB 1 and SB 2; the Supreme Court of Kentucky held the injunction not warranted on August 21, 2021 (Ex. KY-055). Justia, FindLaw and Casetext were blocked or withdrawn, so the 2020 text is evidenced from the enacted amendment rather than a 2020 code page. KRS 532.090 and 534.040 read on the LRC site September 28, 2026, not saved.